Author Topic: Tomato fruitworm on BHN 602  (Read 1109 times)

Offline Berkley

Tomato fruitworm on BHN 602
« on: May 22, 2014, 12:48 PM »
While I hope our experience is not typical, our first results from the BHN 602 definitely did not live up to its publicity. >:(

« Last Edit: September 08, 2016, 10:15 AM by sharonrempert »

Offline Berkley

Re: Tomato fruitworm on BHN 602
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2014, 01:59 PM »
Today I discovered that whatever is causing the problem is not a disease specific to the variety, but rather is some sort of pest. Last night I studied the photos of the two tomatoes, and realized that both had a round hole on the upper surface (stem end). Today I looked on a Celebrity next to the BHN 602 and saw just such a hole in the same location on one of the green tomatoes. When I picked it, the underside and interior had the same necrotic tissue, although not as advanced as that on the two BHN tomatoes from yesterday. I dissected the Celebrity and found no evidence of any pest still inside it.
I have to conclude that whatever is causing the problem is a pest which hatches inside the tomato, eats its fill (causing the necrosis), and then chews its way out when it reaches the next stage of its development. I visited with Randy and Ila, but neither had any idea what the culprit might be.
I'll start searching the internet, and report back.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2016, 10:14 AM by sharonrempert »

Offline Berkley

Re: Tomato fruitworm pn BHN 602
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2014, 03:35 PM »
It seems we have an infestation of tomato fruitworms, AKA corn earworms. LINK
Bacillus thuringiensis (Bt) is the recommended organic control. Off to look for Bt.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2014, 03:37 PM by Berkley »

Offline Berkley

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2014, 03:32 PM »